Hope builds – 8/21/12

I’m a rower, a poet, a software developer / tester / architect, a spiritual intercessor, a father, husband, friend, and probably a number of other things as well. And each part had its own development, generally starting with little more than a hope. As a good friend said to me some years ago, “you were so bad at basketball when you started in the third grade!”, but somehow I grew past that and learned to enjoy what I had no clue about when I started.

Hope builds
from the distant dream
of the young
(or the older standing before something brand new)
when it’s more like wishful thinking
a vain hope
a (perhaps false) promise

but the workouts
the learning
begins
and small steps are taken

the repetition builds familiarity
learning like a small child
in joyful enthusiasm
by mostly being present
to the promise

slowly
the workout
builds strength
endurance
and calluses
in the right and necessary
places

the guitar fingers no longer hurt
on the strings
the hands don’t blister so badly
on the oar handle
the words flow more easily
in the poetry
and the fears which surfaced
after the exuberant beginning
have been named
and put in their place
no longer in control

now
the world looks different
standing on this new vantage point
I see beyond
the initial promise
as it begins to be realized
then expected
and a new part of who I am
opens up
in front of me

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

