being lost – 8/16/12

Getting lost happens from time to time. It’s not comfortable. it places me at one of the limits of my current abilities. And if I never feel lost, somehow I don’t think I’m trying hard enough, or traveling far enough from a comfortable home base.

being aware
of being lost
is true wilderness
and opens my eyes
beginning with the electric start
of fear
of never being found
of always being nowhere

then survival
and then finding a way home
or out
or into
some next thing

clarity develops
around navigation
and what it is that I’m really looking for
where am I really going
what’s most important
what drives me
what am I capable of
when pressed

it may take a while
and sometimes the fog is thick

but somehow
connections are built
and reinforced
with life
God
the wilderness
and true friends

so
rest
and engage
in the wilderness
journey

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

