Higgs faith – 7/5/12

New York Times – Physicists Find Elusive Particle Seen as Key to Universe
Confirmation of the Higgs boson or something very much like it would constitute a rendezvous with destiny for a generation of physicists who have believed in the boson for half a century without ever seeing it. The finding affirms a grand view of a universe described by simple and elegant and symmetrical laws — but one in which everything interesting, like ourselves, results from flaws or breaks in that symmetry.
According to the Standard Model, the Higgs boson is the only manifestation of an invisible force field, a cosmic molasses that permeates space and imbues elementary particles with mass. Particles wading through the field gain heft the way a bill going through Congress attracts riders and amendments, becoming ever more ponderous.  (   really? 🙂   )

Higgs faith

the things I believe in
drive what and who
I am connected to
my deep held beliefs
drive my passions
to sometimes pull me up
sometimes drive me forward
and sometimes pull me off track
or trap me in a rut
when I refuse to leave
a lesser faith
I’ve outgrown

the object of my faith
the things, people, ideals I choose to trust
reach down and pull me up
out of and beyond myself
to enable me to become more like
what or whom I trust

faith in the Standard Model of particle physics
drove thousands
to seek for years
until they found
the next piece
and now they stand a little higher
and see a little deeper into
the mechanics of the universe
seeing its glorious symmetries
and perhaps getting glimpses of yet higher peaks
that open new doors
on unexpected new regions to explore

its the surprises
the surprising beauty
that keep the best
coming back
for more

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

