godzilla power – 6/1/12

the hardest thing for strong athletic men to let go of, is their strength.
And yet, it is the main thing that gets in the way, of learning to row.
Sometimes we are so afraid of being weak that our preoccupation with being strong, obscures our vision of the way forward. Yet even then, if we watch and listen, there are moments, we get glimpses of what appears to be a natural rhythm, when the task becomes easy. Ah, for more of these elusive moments.

hope
that 8 people
can learn to row together
and create the smooth rhythm
that gets out of the way
and lets the boat speak its design
as it takes the power offered
and moves straight through the water
fast

the vertical
and side to side
the over powered
godzilla control distractions
removed
then the boat rises up
and is sent forward
on a carpet of bubbles
as each stroke speaks
“da … whoosh”

this hope
of rhythm
growing towards a feeling
that comes and goes
is what keeps me
coming back
for more

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

