faith when you’re sick – 5/25/12

I caught a cold, or perhaps just more intense allergies, but they have taken me out of my usual routine. I find my brain working at half power, and I’m tired, and need to nap a lot (ok, more than usual).  Compared to many, I’m not even very sick, but its disrupted the second half of my week of rowing, choir, meetings, work. And the deadlines that are always hanging over my head, aren’t getting done.

taken out of the game(s)
because you’re sick
however minor
is a great grinding of gears for me
as my wife says,
I don’t do sick well.

it takes me days
to stop
worrying about
and wanting to
do
and keep going
discouraged
that “they”
seem to do without me
so well

where is my faith now?
it’s showing off
my weakness
in the midst
of a
go go go
world

realizing
how attached
I get
to my competencies
and how much I enjoy
and need
the feedback
and glowing reports

and I find that faith
lets me see
my own
misplaced
connections
to power

faith
lets me be
wrong
about myself

faith
lets me be
(and see)
my weakness

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

