late spark

I discovered in college that the feedback loop for my faith, was 2-5 years. A friend, Mike, came to me and told me how much something I had said to him meant to him. It had stuck with him and changed a part of his life. I was grateful, but it took me a while in reconstructing where and when I must have said this to him, to realize that it had been 2-3 years prior. As I’ve paid attention to such things, I’ve seen that when I do get to glimpse something I’ve said or done that has had such an impact, its taken 2-5 years for that feedback to get back to me.

This interval has decreased in recent years, for which I am grateful.

hope
when no one is listening
fades
for lack of an open door

yet even then
sometimes
the door slowly opens
and I’m told
(2 years late)
how someone walked through
that door I opened

my faith 
unseeing
(as is all faith)
sparked hope
in another

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

