Rest – house of the lord

I am discovering “rest” is deeper than I’d imagined.
Such a simple thing, everyone knows how to rest.
But sometimes I don’t.  Yet as I wait. As I walk more deeply. As I turn again and again into Love’s Graces to me, I discover how much I don’t know and live into.
And how much these gifts mean to me.

Come again, into the Lord’s rest

Lord
I come
before you
to the house
to your house
up the stairs
in the front door
and I give you my hat and coat
and you give me the house hat and coat
of salvation
and righteousness
all in You
who are Love

you say
Come
follow me
and I follow
drifting
moving
or remaining still
as the scenery passes by

through the house
with my eyes fixed on you
things pass

and I breathe
the living water
from the deep wells
and open my heart
clean
the tired removing
I rest

conscious of your presence
but not seeing
I rest

I let go of
having to keep moving
I rest

I agree
to follow
and the scenery goes by
as I remain still
with you
I rest

you have not
are not
forgetting me
thank you
I rest

but sometimes
it feels like
you turn your back
so I can’t see
so I can’t feel
your presence

indeed
help me live out
your grace
in the midst of all
that you bring me to
of all that comes by
as I remain
at rest

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the house of the lord and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rest – house of the lord

  1. clarksapoet says:

    Here’s a poem from my “Love’s Hope” email-subscription poetry list that goes with this post Thought I’d share it as well. (request to subscribe by email to clarksapoet@me.com).

    Rest is not
    letting go
    of everything
    and collapsing
    in a heap
    on the couch

    After an intense run
    up long stairs
    at altitude
    I rest
    I drop my pace
    still running well
    letting heart, lungs
    and muscles
    smoothly work out
    the strain
    released

    during a long
    steady state rowing piece
    I rest
    in the midst of exertion
    each pull
    each push
    honed
    to rest
    relax
    from every motion
    but the one driving the boat
    forward
    then releasing
    the boat
    to glide forward
    under me
    and I rest
    and gather for the next
    drive

    and watching James
    play the guitar
    with each finger
    at rest
    waiting ready
    for its next fret fingering
    or its next strum or pick
    and all else
    at rest
    moving
    at blazing guitar speeds

    and so it carries
    into my rest
    in work stress and strain
    as I learn to move
    without moving
    at rest

Leave a Reply

