The Golgotha Key – 4/18/12

a meditation on love’s cross, on dying into life. Take some time, stopping at the “selah’s” to reflect and see what images come to you that help you put yourself inside these concepts. I’ve been journaling these things for years now. Its where my poetry sprang up from, unexpected, but now a treasured gift.

Lord
I come

the key around my neck
Your cross,
with a bit of the hill Golgotha
attached

scaled to fit into my hand
to fit on a chain around my neck

I take the key
this key of death
on through into life
and open my heart

selah

and I breathe your living water in
through  my feet, like roots
planted on the black obsidian
where  the cross is planted

Deep below this rock
my roots reach down
to find
a living water tributary
flowing

and i breathe in this water
and draw it up
in and through my heart
and it flows out
washing me
from the inside out

removing
the things that accumulate
the little hurts
the fears
my self doubt
the hurts I’ve inflicted
on others
I keep breathing
and these are washed away

selah

and a living mist arises
out through
all the pores on my body
and a white light glows
a small fire

and I become a beacon
a light set on a hill
for others to see

selah

Ah Lord
thank you
may I walk well in these things today
and remember to breathe
and to pray for the me who will show up
in events today

for grace to rise above my fears and insecurities
to walk your word
to walk your love out and into
an offering
to each one I meet
and deal with today

let me see
glimpses
of your living water working through me

let me see glimpses
of your light
of understanding
of faith, hope, and love’s
touch

and let me remain strong
in the midst of my weaknesses
with you working through me

selah

and as I breathe
the living water
and the light
continue to flow

thank you
and make it so

selah

what would you ask?
and give thanks

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the house of the lord and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Golgotha Key – 4/18/12

  1. Beautiful, Clark! I look forward to reading more.

    • clarksapoet says:

      Thanks, Barbara. I’ve been using these to come to grips with things I finally decided to either drop or really get to know the reality behind the words we sometimes use too easily. For a while, they were just for me, and then I found that they work for other people too. Its interesting to catch glimpses when that happens. Thanks for letting me know.

  2. clarksapoet says:

    Each time I walk through this meditation, I’m touched and refreshed. The road film from the previous day is washed off, and a bit of joy returns, and there are fewer of my own barriers between me and the people I’ll see today.

  3. Brigid says:

    I wonder if you might enjoy the Works of Isaac Penington written in the 1600’s. (He was a member of Society of Friends of the time). I find your writings moving quite like his are. You can find it online.

    • clarksapoet says:

      Thanks, Brigid for the pointer. I have read similar things before (but he uses such a lot of words! 🙂 ). I’ll poke around the works some more.

Leave a Reply

