Betrayal

Matthew 26

shit happens. To me, because of me, around me, to those I love, and those I have only heard of.  In small doses and sometimes gigantic missteps with global repercussions. Maundy Thursday, the Last Supper is a day of betrayal, of last words remembered, of deeds done that can’t be reversed. These are rough doorways to walk through when hopes and promises look particularly dim.

betrayal
and bitter weeping
is part of the story
is part of our story

we follow the line
the story
the way
of love
as best we can
and yet fall
are offended
scared off
and just can’t take it any more
and break
our allegiance
shatters

anger and striking out
despair and collapse
disaster
grief
hopelessness
fill us
as our dreams shatter
and must be remade

and then?

for the moment
darkness

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Betrayal

  1. clarksapoet says:

    And glimmers / in the darkness / appear with friends email comments / on how a word or phrase / touched them.
    This poem seems to have captured / for several / the sadness / and hope they need in a battle with cancer / dealing with a friend in divorce / a year of illness / or a touch of language that captures / something they wanted to say / and they add their / “thank you” / to the dialog

Leave a Reply

