The Parable of the Wicked Vinedressers – 3/31/12

Matthew 21:33ff

A good story, that makes the listener take some responsibility for uncovering their own issues in connection to the story, I find more effective than a direct comment telling the other directly what I know to be wrong with them. It turns out, I don’t know what is wrong with them exactly, and need their help to have them uncover what their own motivations might be and what their next steps are.

We need each other on these journey’s we’re on. And sometimes these stories bring us all closer to the conclusion. As did this parable.

discovering
that it is you
that is being uncovered in a story
particularly
when it is in a bad light

can be a shock
to the system
and one that
can jolt you
out of the current
path
or rut
and onto a new course

a kick past
apathy
into anger
can at least
get one
up and moving

I don’t like these
slaps in the face
but find that later
I am grateful
for such
inconveniences

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

