Promises 3/30/12

Matthew 21
The Triumphal Entry &  Jesus Cleanses the Temple

Daring to believe in a promise from a trusted source is a mark of a true relationship.
I’ve felt some promises grab me by the shirt collar, look me straight in the eye and say, “this is for you”, “this is who you could become”. And though it may take some time. This is the road I’m on, to walk into what I’ve been promised, what I’ve dared to believe could be me, just ahead. Now this is how I read scripture, receiving promises, bit by bit.

Jesus saw
where he was headed
to his death at the hands of the authorities
to walk out the prophet’s words
which he applied to himself

to rise up
against the most flagrant
desecration
the temple become market

to walk into promises
into new things
not yet fully experienced
takes persistence
and the right times

it brings unknowns
to be worked through

it brings barriers to be crossed
surpassed
over come

and getting to know
myself
in ways I’ve not seen
before

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

