The Parable of the Two Sons – 3/29/12

Matthew 21:28

I can’t keep up with everything. There are too many things to know. Too many shows to watch. Too many things shouting at me for my attention. So I decided some years ago, to try out some of the things I’d heard and believed to be true. To see what things would really work for me. So I began to listen to things that mattered to me, that caught my attention, and so I learned to write poetry and music. I learned to pray and see more through God’s eyes rather than my own. I learned that working is a lot like a wilderness journey. I learned that its hard to be heard unless you walk closely alongside people for a time, and learn to speak their dialect and touch those things which they care about in the midst of the demands they feel they must respond to. And sometimes I learned that I can’t be heard, the way is closed that I’m attempting, and I must try another.

Listening
then doing
what you hear
walking it out
is the beginning
of true understanding

we hear so many things
we live with such a demanding
saturation
where informed opinions
must be quickly formed
and ready at all times
lest one
“not know”
the current topics
at hand

at times
at work
this unspoken demand
is so great
that
a design discussion
becomes a monologue
with a quick “yes”
for assent
expected at the end

how can two minds
come so quickly into agreement
on somethings so technically
complex?

but I guess
this has been going on
for thousands of years
people holding on to what
they believe they know
without really trying it on
without really walking it out
without letting truth
change them

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

