Who Is the Greatest? – 3/26/12

Matthew 18
18 At that time the disciples came to Jesus, saying, “Who then is greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”
2 Then Jesus called a little child to Him, set him in the midst of them, 3 and said, “Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven. 4 Therefore whoever humbles himself as this little child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. 5 Whoever receives one little child like this in My name receives Me.

like a little child

its hard to remember
but watching a grandchild
learn to do
their first things
helps

they become aware
and alert to new things
crying
smiling
rolling over
laughing
crawling
standing
walking
speaking

then start trying them out
trying them on
and in their own time
and own way
they make it their own
and do it

their attitudes
and personalities
vary
they are good at their own set of things
and not as good at others

they are growing into
who they are

and as we get older
that sometimes stops
along the way
we are disappointed, tired, beat down, satisfied, busy

may we continue
to grow into who we are
in Love’s embrace

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

