The cross – trash and treasure 3-24-12

Matthew 16:24ff

A number of years ago now, I was touched by the Holy Spirit in a strange, yet delightful way during worship. I was laughing and crying at the same time. A woman standing nearby told me that I’d probably been given the gift of intercession – bringing people before God in prayer. It was not the gift I’d asked for, the experience was a bit strange and it took a few years to grow into, but I’ve grown to enjoy praying for people and watching what happens. One way I use to know what to pray I call the “House of the Lord”. If a place is prepared for me, I’d rather like to see how the building is going and what it looks like. So I’ve created the following meditation.
Take a little time with it, and dare to imagine what this intro into Love’s house looks like for you.

Rest

Come
to the foot of the cross
drop all
that you are carrying
your trash and treasure
for a moment
and rest

come, bring your offering to the Lord

Some will remain
with Me
and some I will return
My burden
which is light
and lightly to be carried

– – – selah (breathe)  – – –

the foyer – entering in

the door is open
come on in
leave whatever you brought with you here
let me take your hat
(your way of saving yourself when you need rescue)
and your coat
(your own world identity – your way of being right)

put on the house hat of salvation by Love
(you’re found / rescued by Love)
and the house coat of the righteousness of Love
(you don’t need to work at being right, put on Love)

and then go on
further in

welcome.

—– breathe —–

Jesus said, “In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?”    (John 14:2)

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

