Hard Sayings -Death and Resurrection 3/23/12

Matthew 16:21ff

I love being right. Of coming up with the right answer, of getting the thanks and approval of one for whom I’ve supplied an answer. But many times I’ve also found that my right answer may not be so right. It may be too soon (I’ve been caught trying to teach calculus to kindergartners 🙂 ), or using language of my own that the other one doesn’t understand, or I may be answering a question the other one isn’t actually asking.   And sometimes I find that I just don’t really understand what I thought I did, or didn’t see the situation with God’s eyes,  more was going on than I knew.

Peter said (for all of us)
You won’t die
You won’t suffer

we make our attempts
to command life and death
to command joy and suffering

If only we could shape the world
to our vision
then things would be “fine”
then things would be “wonderful”
yet devoid of truth
yet all would be remade small
small enough for me to grasp
and command
but too small to contain
life, love and truth

“Get behind me Satan”
Must have been hard for Peter
to be brought up so short.

when I’ve been praised
when I’ve gotten a question right
many times I want to take charge
and get the next one right too
and I overstep what I know
in vain hope
in wishful thinking
that I can throw up a prayer
just at the buzzer
and be a hero
again

but the world
doesn’t work that way
for very long
and I am grateful

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

