Great Faith – 3/22/12

Matthew 15

22 And behold, a woman of Canaan came from that region and cried out to Him, saying, “Have mercy on me, O Lord, Son of David! My daughter is severely demon-possessed.”

23 But He answered her not a word
.
…
26 But He answered and said, “It is not good to take the children’s bread and throw it to the little dogs.”

27 And she said, “Yes, Lord, yet even the little dogs eat the crumbs which fall from their masters’ table.”

28 Then Jesus answered and said to her, “O woman, great is your faith! Let it be to you as you desire.” And her daughter was healed from that very hour.

… and here’s my poem photo shoot of this situation as it played out.

she saw
or perhaps heard of
the things he was doing
and she had a daughter
she dearly loved

and she was
annoying
and was
making a scene

and worse
she didn’t belong

but she had seen or heard
and she believed deeply
she KNEW
he could take care
of her problem

so she defied
her lack of belonging
being ignored
the insulting rebuff
from the disciples
and the rather cruel reply
(in my 21st century eyes)
from the Master
and was answered
and got her heart’s desire

faith that is stopped
by my own
or another’s
obstacles

is that faith?
or merely
wishful thinking?

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

