Blind guides – 3/21/12

Matthew 15:1-20

For years, I have tried to teach people things I know and love. Like math, which I find deeply interesting. But I have found that my style of asking questions, works quite well with some people, while leaving other friends deeply frustrated by my refusal to tell them how to do it. I don’t know how to tell them how to do it, but I do know how to ask  questions which will lead them to figure it out. Perhaps dealing with other kinds of blindness, isn’t so different, and I need to pay attention to finding those who can hear, the types of questions I can ask, and let the others alone.

blind guides
what to do with blind guides?

“leave them alone”
(really?)

but they have such a following
but so many are wandering off with them
into their own personal darkness

that makes no sense

that is security against disappointment

that offers several different ways
to stop thinking
about complexities
that are
annoying
and refuse to go away

that are not rooted and grounded in love
but by some simpler
less painful
principle

so I am left
attempting
to speak & walk out love’s truth
with those who will hear
with those who will see

and letting
the blind lead the blind
into the ditch

(really?)
perhaps my doubt
is a teacher’s compassion
to have every student
understand

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blind guides – 3/21/12

  1. krista says:

    Like it…and a good math teacher too :-). Also the ” inquiry method” leads to increased retention…and the NIH gives grants for such things. Again, just ahead of your time. And blind guides are a little scary.

  2. clarksapoet says:

    Ah, glad my method has a name 🙂

Leave a Reply

