Walking on Water – 3/20/12

Matthew 14

In my recent past, looking for ways to be effective at work, there have been times when it didn’t seem like I would succeed. When I couldn’t see the way forward, all I could see was the face of Jesus as we were both engulfed in a thick fog. And I couldn’t tell if I was moving or if the fog was moving by us. But I kept looking at Jesus and praying through the fog. And this may have been try #2 at my walking on water. I’m expecting that this walk is not yet complete.

Learning to Fly  (open in new tab to listen)

I desperately want
to walk on water
twice

beyond the one initial step of faith
that crumbles

first footing gained,
then lost
when the old ways reassert
making it clear
I will only  hurt myself
in thinking
wishful, crazy, impossibilities

but the vision glimpse teases
from just beyond sight
just beyond my reach
and I keep walking
on passed doubt
to somehow ask
to somehow get back in that place of asking
for my return
when I take the 2nd
3rd and 4th steps

impossibly supported
on the waves above the depths
that block so completely all thoughts
of a way forward.

oh, to move from impossible surprised astonish
to a new familiar
making place
for the next faith glimpse
leading doubting feet
timid students
to learn to walk
to run
to fly

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

