Prophecy and Parables – 3/19/12

Matthew 13

“I will open My mouth in parables;
I will utter things kept secret from the foundation of the world.”

At work, I often encounter a demand for surety. For things we can easily count, so others can assess my productivity, effectiveness or progress. And there is a place for such things. But, there is also a place for the uncountable, for a sense of purpose or vision for what we could become, of what we could help our customers become. And these are harder to count. Counting these things falls short of our vision, and may cause us to lose sight of our way forward, as we focus on the smaller, more familiar aspects of our work that we can count. Our visions, hopes, dreams and motivations need feeding through stories told that help us increasingly paint a brighter, clearer, more expansive picture of our future together.

parables
poems
music
gift giving
art
creativity

for me
are all about
finding ways to speak truth
more deeply

finding ways to express
the inexpressible

going past
what we can currently measure
or quantify

to touch
to experience
to live out
love
sorrow
anger
joy
thankfulness

that we share with one another
not because we understand it
and can count it
but just because
we are more fully
alive
in it

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

