to dance – 3/17/12

Matthew 11:16-19

‘We played the flute for you,
And you did not dance;
We mourned to you,
And you did not lament.’

When I was about 8, my younger brother told an even younger neighbor kid to ask me how a color TV works. I didn’t know I’d been set up. I thought he really wanted to know. So I told him. Apparently I told him more than he wanted to know. And my brother thought it was funny, and started asking “and who put the quarter in Clark?” when I would get going off on some topic I found fascinating. I slowly discovered that not everyone shares my fascinations. And I have come to recognize when someone’s blast doors are coming down and I have said too much, when I have pushed too far, when I have walked to the edge of someone’s world view and attempted to push them over the edge.   This is an uncomfortable, unfamiliar place, but for me it is where God does the most interesting things (at least that’s what I think after I’ve had 2 years or so to grow into them).

we seem
sometimes
pretty strongly
invested
in our own
current
view of our universes

pretty stuck in our ways
like we currently have
all knowledge necessary
that our lives are filled
with our precious familiar
and shouldn’t be touched
so as to change them

we are satisfied
with our own village
and resistant to change
taking great pains
to dig ourselves
deeper trenches
or ruts
to live
and feel safe in

but we are not yet complete
we haven’t yet loved
all that we will love
we haven’t yet mourned
all that we will have lost

where have we refused
to dance?
when have we refused
to mourn?

One of my prayers
is for the grace
to be released
from the familiar
and the courage
to follow Love’s Spirit
towards and into
the me
Love sees

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

