Parables – 3/18/12

Matthew 13

33 Another parable He spoke to them: “The kingdom of heaven is like leaven, which a woman took and hid in three measures of meal till it was all leavened.”

I enjoy teaching, coaching, and mentoring people as we walk together for a while. And I have found that poetry and music are some of the best ways I have to do that. For me prose takes too long, it requires too many words. Poetry takes fewer words, and it has a layered character which stays around longer. I find it works rather like leaven, its effects take time. A good poem draws me back into it for multiple readings, and over time I see more and more things I didn’t know were there. A good poem speaks slowly, bit by bit, as I am ready to hear more of what it has to say.

the kingdom of heaven
is at hand
small and unseen
yet it leavens all

it is where life is
where treasures are found
where seeds sown
and watched
yet they grow on their own

where some hear
sometimes
and all miss
most things
but we rejoice
in the small
discoveries
that grow
in our
walking
them
out

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

