Wisdom is tough – 3/16/12

Matthew 11

I’m trying to build something at work. In the wilderness of “get it done”, “you’re costing a lot, are you worth it? We’re here to make money after all.” Sometimes it a tough wilderness. But what a great place to grow up and have opportunities to see what you can do with tough problems. The rewards and disappointments can be more apparent than elsewhere. I’m trying to build products and tools that delight customers, internal customers like my boss and the people who use my tools, and external customers who use the product to do many things with storage in the cloud. And this is a good wilderness to grow up in. Its where I’m called to be, living out what I know and am learning to be true. And its tough. Its not easy.

John
the Baptizer
in prison
sent to Jesus asking
“Are You the Coming One, or do we look for another?”
was he discouraged?
or did he just want some confirmation that his job was done?

I’d be discouraged there
I am discouraged here and now
from time to time
wondering if what I’m doing
has impact
beyond a close circle
of people who listen
and do what they hear

wondering if I’ll be
allowed to continue
when I’m told
in not so veiled language
that I don’t measure up
that my efforts
have not been sufficient

and Jesus responds
and sends the message back
of what is happening
of what he is demonstrating
of the word he is living out

its not easy
not so many listen
fewer act on what they hear

“But wisdom is justified by her children.”

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

