A Cup of Cold Water – 3/15/12

Matthew 10:40-42

In my school and work training, the largest emphasis has been on understanding how things work, from a scientific – mathematical perspective. And along with that comes ideas of measuring and knowing facts about things, so I have something to work with. And there is a strong tendency to declare that this rational thought process is the highest and best sort of knowledge. But I have had to unseat this pretender to that throne, as I realized that there is a higher (and lower) sort of knowing in loving one another, seeing another for who they are, and connecting with them on a personal heart level. Whether it be a friendship, a marriage, a working partnership, or even a creator-customer relationship. The most important parts of a relationship can’t be measured fully well. They involve trust, and compassion, and forgiveness, and patience,  and delight. This heart knowing both supports and covers over and completes my scientific ways of knowing and it starts with recognizing who someone really is.

receiving
welcome

recognized
for your gifted-ness

seen
by one
for who you are

giving
a cup of water
well received

connects in relationship
starts a friendship
a courtship
a marriage
a long term heart partnership

and these
connections
are where life is
are where we touch God

are where we see
and learn to see
love
and
life

in, through and with
one another

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

