Christ Brings Division – 3/14/12

Matthew 10:34-39

Again, a number of years ago, I looked at the news of the day and what I knew of history, and didn’t see much hope from such things. And bit by bit, a kind of desperation grew in me that by myself I didn’t have answers for the way we seem to treat one another. This threw me increasingly at God’s feet. My desperation became a force driving me deeper into God. And now I know that I have no strength to combat the many ways we harm each other that I am so sensitive to. So I pray. So I ask for a way forward. And bit by bit, God is raising up an audience who listens, who responds, who is seeking Love, the Christ, the Enabling Spirit as well. We begin to speak our callings to one another and teach each other of our giftings. And the bride of Christ gathers.

yes
and backwards
from what I’ve hoped
in my wishful thinking

my desires
are not division
but that’s what I find
walking with this Christ

I find a few
I can speak to
a few I can listen to
even in church
even at work
even among friends

I have little or no connection
with many
I don’t understand
what they are after
besides power
and position
and comfort
and their familiar world
made in their own image

I am competitive
but I have no stomach for fighting
and conflict
yet
I see it is there
and I wonder
at this road
following hard
after Love

I don’t understand
the why of such conflicted necessity
but I see
that it is true
and I live
with Love
in this twisted reality
walking forward
following
getting to know
myself and others
through Love’s
eyes

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

