today’s word … – 3/12/12

perfect
completion
work done, rest

workout
workout
workout

The wilderness is an interesting place to walk through. Many times it is quite beautiful and peaceful. It is usually work to remain there, and go about the business of living well. Sometimes it is a workout, perhaps quite intense.  I find the workplace to be such a wilderness. In some ways it seems to call out the best in me, and other times it seems to want to attack those very things. Yet I’m called there, and so I remain.

reading in Matthew this AM
I’m disconnected
nothing, yet
is coming to mind
nothing yet is speaking to me

when the word stops speaking
the spirit is flat
and I see nothing
worth painting
with words

I draw back
and wonder briefly
what I’ve done to …
and I drop this line
of exploration
as being unproductive

I am loved
I am forgiven
and I silently offer
up
all I am
and am thankful

I sit
and enjoy
the Spirit’s rising presence
Peilush
welcome

I am thankful

and I pray
for the day’s coming workout
warm me up well
and let me proceed with endurance
and clarity of mind
into this day
into this workout

to walk, run, fly and finally stand

with you
through
the workout

as indeed
I walk through the wilderness
at work
today

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

