Many Were Healed – 3/11/12

Matthew 8

on Healing

About 22 years ago now, I went to a conference at the Vineyard in Anaheim, on worship and healing. I went 3 years in a row, hearing a call and following through on it only by God’s grace through many small steps. At the third one, I went asking for a gift, a supernatural spiritual gift. And if possible, I wanted either the gift of healing or prophecy, so that’s what I asked for. During one worship time, while everyone was singing, the Holy Spirit fell on me as I was worshipping, and I found myself laughing and crying at the same time. When the music ended, I sat down out of breath and amazed, wondering at what had just happened.

A woman who had been watching me told me that a rule of thumb that John Wimber had found to be frequently true was that when the Spirit fell on someone to give them a gift, if people cried, it often happened they were given the gift of prophecy, if they laughed they were given the gift of healing, and if they laughed and cried at the same time, they were given the gift of intercession.

I felt affirmed that the 2 gifts I’d asked for had been in the list, but  I felt disappointed that I’d been passed over for those gifts I’d asked for, and given a third gift of basically praying for people.

But, I knew at the time that I didn’t really understand what I’d been given. I’d been given words/promises from God before, and each time I’d been disappointed in the word, only to walk it out for a while and grow into the gift which was larger than I could imagine when I initially received it.  So I’ve come to see this disappointment as one indicator of God’s gifting, and I’ve learned to be patient and walk it forward anyway, because in 2 years or so, I’m going to be thinking its the coolest thing ever.

Healing

Being given the gift
of intercession
instead of healing
or prophecy

felt like getting
stretch socks for Christmas
from my Grandma
when I was a kid

but I knew
I didn’t know
what I’d been given

so a couple years later
having grown into delight
at praying for people
and seeing its effects
and seeing answers

I also began to see
that intercession
includes
healing
and
prophecy

and I’ve developed
and grown into
the intercession
and into
the prophetic

but healing
has been neglected
and only occasionally
something I attempt

I have been successful
a demonic cloud dispelled here
a headache removed there
a few things

and I wonder
at my reluctance (still present)
to go deeper
into this gift
I seldom open

but I don’t want to talk about it
it doesn’t really fit
into any of my current
life
contexts

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

