Listening (not) – 3/10/12

Matthew 8

Some  of my favorite ways of not listening, are to just tune out the “too long explanation”, the “rationale of one who’s agenda doesn’t match mine”, or one I find doesn’t listen to me. I don’t know where to take the relationship, so I stop trying.  And sometimes in so doing, I find I’ve missed something that I regret not understanding later.  This story of a leper’s cleansing,  triggers something in me to notice all the ways people partially heard what Jesus said. And I find, I do it too.

There are many ways
not to listen

The leaders of the day
wanting to lead
and remain in control
in positions of power
had a hard time listening
to an upstart
becoming more popular
than they
who was undermining
their authority
the thought

and a leper
who asked
and was healed

what did he do
with the request to
go to the priest
and offer the gift
as Moses commanded
did he go and do as requested?

And why do I think
he stayed with the crowds
following Jesus
rejoicing with friends
in his new found
health?

and never quite
made it
to his talk
with the priest

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

