Build on Rock

Matthew 7:24-28

Many times, I find it difficult to explain or convince people that the road we are currently walking leads to trouble that could be avoided. It’s been my job for many years to test software, to tell people about problems I’m finding with what they’ve built, in order that they fix them so our love for our customers results in tools that surprise and delight them. But often, I’m told that I “don’t understand”, or that “but it works on my system”, or “we’ve tried to change it, but its too hard and can’t happen” …   So I resort to walking ahead, and building a bridge, a door in a wall, some way around the looming breakdown and wait. And when they run into the issus and become fully aware of the problems, they take the alternative offered without much thought.  A few see more clearly, and learn something for next time.

Hearing
then doing
and hearing again
and perhaps redoing
is wisdom

and foundations grow
and take root
that will support
a house
a church
a nation
a world
in the storms

yet many
are satisfied
with camping
with quickly built houses
of thoughts and beliefs
scarcely tested
with foot paths for travel
never going far from home’s
comfort thoughts

and when storms rise
little holds firm
and comfort’s
easy imitation of peace
must be regathered
from what remains

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

