The Narrow Way – 3/8/12

Matthew 7:13-14

Going deeper, persistently taking the time to unearth the large rocks I find in my own way, and then to discard them feels to me like a narrow way, that gets progressively more focused the deeper I go. So “narrow” I understand.  “Few” I have a harder time with. I see that few have seemed to find deep life, love, and a deep desire after what is true, but destruction? I try not to think about it, it scares me.

for me
finding this narrow way
of living
and dying
towards LIFE
has created a desperation
that seems necessary
in order to cut
sufficiently deep
to get into
and through
difficult issues

looking
at the news of the world
in its increasing speed
crazy pursuits
and distractions
has thrown me
desperate
deeper into the hands
of Love
of Life
coming to see
in fits and starts
those things
which I must have
which I must do
and am willing to die for

and for some things
such dying
takes time
and learning to ask
deeper and deeper
questions

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

