ask – 3/7/12

Matthew 7:7

When I began my serious prayer conversations with God, I started by writing down my prayers on the left side of a page in a notebook. I left room on the right side for the answers. I began my experiment, because I really wanted to know if and how God answers, and I wasn’t satisfied with the made up answers I heard from so many. It took me 2 years of getting an answer here, some comments there, until I started to see a pattern. I’d look back and review periodically, and I started to see I was getting 1 answer  more than any other, about 80% of the time. It was “you are asking the wrong question”.
Whoa. That set me back on my heals. But finally, I began asking, “so what’s the right question?”  and then the conversations started in earnest.

my favorite command
my favorite promise

ask

wondering
so what do I really want?
what do I really want to have?
what do I really want to know?
who do I really want to know and love?

what does love look like?
in all situations?
what does “almost love” look like?
how do I tell the difference?

how does the sun work?
why are prime numbers so, …. peculiar?

does prayer work?
how?

why is God so concerned about “the WORD”?
why is God so into relationships?

why do I so often get answers I don’t like,
when I ask the “early questions” in an area?

why does God seem so silent to many?

why don’t we listen more often?
when we pray, why do we
tell God what we think is best?
why don’t we ask real questions?
why do we so protect ourselves against being disappointed?

how can I draw people into becoming more and more true to themselves?
how can I grow to see more with God’s eyes?
what do I look like, in God’s eyes, in 10 years time?

why are we so preoccupied with “being right”?
and care so little about what is deeply true?

And how do we proceed on through
and past all our “why’s?” on into
who am I becoming?
who am I following?

so what is the real question?
what is the best question?
and are we desperate enough
to persist and grow
to be able to
hear
the answers

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

