Judgment – 3/6/12

Matthew 7:1-5
On a trip to India (to outsource my job) a few years ago, I found myself immersed in number of old cultures that I was trying to carefully pigeon hole, in terms of what they believed and why they acted the way they did. I found I was measuring them by my culture and sets of beliefs. And it was getting in the way of my getting to know the people. I decided that it was more important for me to get to know and enjoy the people I was with than to measure their beliefs and systems by my (incomplete) understandings of my own. I wasn’t going to “judge” and “set straight” these belief systems that are thousands of years old, in my 3 month stay.

the measure you use 
to judge others
will be the measure you are judged by
so choose your measure wisely

when was the last time you found a plank
in your own eye?
who found it for you?
and how did it feel?
at the time?
and then later?

fortunately
I make mistakes
rather frequently

it never feels very good
to be caught at it
even when its small
and relatively inconsequential

and I’m learning from musicians
to not dwell on them
to acknowledge them
forgive myself for them
and carry on
as 
the beat continues

I’ve been forgiven
that’s what this Jesus cross thing
is all about
so, let it be true
and live in Love’s grace
going forward
and quickly
not circling round and round
the pot hole I just created
and am moving past

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

