ash wednesday – 2/22/12

Matthew 4:1-11

The Lent journey begins. Down this road through death into life. Not easy, but hopeful, because I’ve been this way before, and have seen how this story ends. And in the midst of my current wilderness, I want that ending. So I walk the road on past the panic and fear and indecision around me to get where I want to be.

its Ash Wednesday
the wilderness of fear
springs into action
with “acting in charge”
charging off
in the remembered
convenient directions

I watch
and wonder what I can do
I listen
I listen
and endeavor to speak truth

The wilderness
of fear
of hunger, thirst, weary, lost wandering
panic unable to find
>    a handle
>    a door
>    a familiar problem that can be resolved quickly
what do you hang on to then?
when a reasonable, well fed tempter comes
and offers you a way out
>    of thinking
>    of loving
>    of diving deeper
passing by
this hardship you’ve not avoided thus far

is there someone
is there something
to love
in and through the wilderness?
in and through the fear?
the doubt?
the uncertainty?
where we so often stop
and go back the safe way we’ve come
declaring our familiar less uncertain
than the darkness just before us
no matter who
or what brought us here.

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

